Miguel Costa Matos

I’ve been reading The Left Hemisphere: Mapping Critical Theory Today by Sorbonne professor Razmig Keucheyan, and I’ve learnt a lot. I’m collecting my reflections, with particular emphasis on how they connect to my dissertation, but I thought I would share with you this inspiring quote from Mexican Zapatista activist leader, subcomandante Marcos:

“Marcos is gay in San Francisco, black in South Africa, Asian in Europe, a Chicano in San Isidro, an anarchist in Spain, a Palestinian in Israel, an Indian in the streets of San Cristóbal, a kid gang member in Nez, a rocker in the Cité universitaire, a Jew in Germany, an ambudsman in Sedena [Defence Ministry], a feminist in political parties, a communist in the post-Cold War, a pacifist in Bosnia, a Mapuche in the Andes… In short, Marcos is any old human being on this planet. Marcos is all the rejected and oppressed minorities, who resist, explode and…

View original post 111 more words

